MARRIAGE LICENSE

Marriage Licenses

The Lee County Circuit Clerk Perfroms the following:

  • Files a Statistical Record of Marriage with the Office of Vital Records with the Mississippi State Department of Health
  • Issues the marriage license
  • Collects a filing fee of $36¬†per marriage record prepared from the applicant

What will I need to apply for marriage license?

Both parties must be 21 years of age or older, appear before the Lee County Circuit Clerk together, provide proof of age (drivers license or birth certificate), and pay $36.00 cash only. If either party has been previously married, we will also need to know the date the last marriage ended. Both parties should also be prepared to provide both parents’ full (including maiden) names. You may also complete this form and bring with you when applying to streamline the process. You will be issued the license on the day you apply. After the ceremony, you will be required to return the license to the clerk for recording no later than 5 days after the marriage.

How far in advance must we apply for marriage license?

Once a marriage license is issued, there is no time limit on completing the marriage ceremony.

When can we apply for marriage license?

Call (662) 432-2300 to make an appointment.

Can I get married at the courthouse?

You will receive your marriage license the same day you apply, and you may have the ceremony the same day. However, it is your responsibility to make arrangements with a licensed minister or other official with the authority to perform marriage ceremonies according to state statute.

Can I get married if I’m under the age of 21?

If you are not yet 21 years of age, you must have parental consent to marry in Mississippi. Certain restrictions apply to persons under the age of 18 applying for marriage license. Please contact the Lee County Circuit Clerk’s office for more details.

There is no waiting period to get a Mississippi marriage license. You’ll get your license the same day you apply for it.

Certified copy of marriage license $15.00; Additional copy $5.00

In order to streamline the process, you may complete the “Marriage License Information Form” and bring it with you when applying.